Tomislav Nikolić took office as Serbian President  

Tomislav Nikolić was officially sworn-in as Serbia's new president after he took the oath of office at a special session of the Serbian Parliament on 31 May 2012. This marked the beginning of his five-year term as the Serbian President. After the national anthem was played, Nikolić signed the oath and then MP Zaharije Trnavčević who chaired the session congratulated him on the start of his term in office.  

The solemn session rose some time after 2pm, following the Parliament's constitutional session. New MPs and the new President were welcomed at the entrance of the House of the National Parliament by an honour guard of the Serbian Armed Forces. 



Nikolić was sworn-in before MPs, saying: “I solemnly declare to invest all my powers in the safeguarding of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic of Serbia, including Kosovo and Metohija, as its integral part, as well as in the realization of human and minority rights and freedoms, to respect and uphold the Constitution and laws, maintain peace and prosperity of all citizens of the Republic of Serbia, and that I will carry out all my duties in a conscientious and responsible manner.” Nikolić arrived to the Parliament building sometime around 2pm, accompanied by his wife Dragica, his sons, daughters-in law and grandchildren and was greeted in front of the building by supporters of the Serbian Progressive Party (SNS).

The special session was also attended by Presidential contenders in the recent elections, including Leader of the Democratic Party (DS) Boris Tadić, candidate of the "Preokret" Movement Čedomir JovanoviĆ, Leader of the Democratic Party of Serbia (DSS) Vojislav Koštunica, as well as Presidential runners of the United Regions of Serbia (URS) Zoran Stanković, representative of the Movement of Workers and Farmers Zoran Dragišić and the Social Democratic Alliance Danica Grujičić. Patriarch Irinej of the Serbian Orthodox Church also attended the session, as well as the representatives of other religious communities in Serbia. The ceremony was also attended by representatives of the Diplomatic Corps, including German Ambassador H.E. Wolfram Maas, U.S. Ambassador H.E. Mary Warlick, Russian Ambassador H.E. Aleksandr Konuzin and Head of the EU Delegation to Serbia Vincent Degert. Representatives of the military security agencies also arrived to the building at Nikola Pašić Square, including the Chief of General Staff of the Serbian Armed Forces Ljubiša Diković and former Serbian President Milan Milutinović. The special session was also attended by the outgoing Prime Minister Mirko Cvetković and members of his Cabinet.  

Representatives of the judiciary including Organised Crime Prosecutor Miljko Radisavljević, War Crimes Prosecutor Vladimir Vukčević and President of the High Judicial Council Nata Mesarović also attended, as well as the Director of the Anti-Corruption Agency Zorana Marković, Serbia's Commissioner for the Protection of Equality Nevena Petrušić, Commissioner for Information of Public Importance and Personal Data Protection Rodoljub Šabić and Ombudsman Saša Janković.